Switch to full style
Discuss the Mets and their minor leaguers.
Post a reply

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:56 pm

Did Bruce actually bat in the 1st? Or they just called ACab out after he doubled?

How is Bruce's AB accounted for? Weird.

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:56 pm

So was Bruce out?

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:57 pm

Per twitter, it appears the Mets may have just batted out of order twice.

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:57 pm

HeyNowHK wrote:Did Bruce actually bat in the 1st? Or they just called ACab out after he doubled?

How is Bruce's AB accounted for? Weird.


Maybe the rule is Bruce is deemed to be the third out of the inning after the Cabrera double? That's the only thing I can think of...

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:57 pm

HeyNowHK wrote:Did Bruce actually bat in the 1st? Or they just called ACab out after he doubled?

How is Bruce's AB accounted for? Weird.


ASCab goes into the books as a put out to the catcher.

Bruce should lead off the 2nd.

Instead, AGon does.

??

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:58 pm

I thought AsCab and Wilmer were flipped and both accounted for outs in the first inning. So I'm not sure why Bruce didn't bat. Or why he would even be out if he was indeed called out.

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:58 pm

MarkJohnson>You wrote:
Metsfan980 wrote:Yikes.

Batting out of turn happens, but not usually because you handed in the wrong lineup card.


When.


It actually happens about once every two seasons:

http://retrosheet.org/outturn.htm

I scouted a game where the Giants did it, but I also scouted a game with a Major Leaguer stole first base, so I might have just had weird luck :D

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:58 pm

Game log for the 1st was double for ACab and Bruce "ruled out." But that seems weird, as ACab had to be ruled out before Bruce came up, no?

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:59 pm

sluger11787 wrote:
HeyNowHK wrote:Did Bruce actually bat in the 1st? Or they just called ACab out after he doubled?

How is Bruce's AB accounted for? Weird.


Maybe the rule is Bruce is deemed to be the third out of the inning after the Cabrera double? That's the only thing I can think of...


That is the only thing that makes sense

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 12:59 pm

HeyNowHK wrote:Game log for the 1st was double for ACab and Bruce "ruled out." But that seems weird, as ACab had to be ruled out before Bruce came up, no?


That's what I would think.

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 1:01 pm

What a debacle. Only the Mets.

Re: 5/9 Getaway day in Cinci

Wed May 09, 2018 1:02 pm

Rosario with a 10-footer strands two in scoring position.
Post a reply